Management for the Maritime Motorsports Hall of Fame (MMHF) is pleased to announce 10 new inductees who will be inducted into the hallowed Hall as part of the Class of 2024. Each is recognized for significant accomplishments in and contributions to Maritime motorsports.

From New Brunswick

  • John Durepos / Competitor, Builder (Snowmobile)
  • Harold Jones / Restorations & Specialties (Antique Tractor & Trucks)
  • James MacPherson / Competitor (Stock Car)
  • Moncton Hog Chapter / Riding Club (Motorcycle)
  • David ‘Dave’ O’Blenis / Competitor, Builder (Stock Car)

From Nova Scotia

  • Stan Brennan / Competitor (Drag Racing)
  • Dean Clattenburg / Competitor, Builder (Stock Car)
  • Don Phillips / Competitor, Builder, Media (Drag Racing)

From Prince Edward Island

  • Lowell Brehaut / Builder, Competitor (Snowmobile)
  • Paton Racing Team / Competitor (Drag Racing)

The nominees were selected by the MMHF Induction Committee – they thank all those who submitted a nomination. Over 170 individuals and clubs have been recognized as Maritime Motorsports Hall of Fame inductees since its inception in 2006.

The induction ceremony and dinner are set for November 16 at the Fredericton Inn. Tickets are available by calling 506-756-2110. The dress code is formal.

Brief bios for each of the members of the Class of 2024 follow (in alphabetic order):

LOWELL BREHAUT: Lowell was the first announcer at PEI Dragway which he also helped start. As a snowmobile racer in the 70s and early 80s he competed on drags and ovals with multiple class wins. His snowmobile savvy resulted in a job as an Atlantic Service rep for Skidoo. As the owner of an auto glass business he sponsored stock car drivers and tracks.

STAN BRENNAN: With a lifelong passion for hot rodding and drag racing, Stan opened Stan’s Speed Shop in Bridgewater at 19-years-old. In the 80s he opened a second store in Halifax. He also became heavily involved in organized drag racing, starting with a street car, moving to Super Stock, then Competition Eliminator, and then back to Super Stock for the remainder of his career. He quickly found success and became a top car on maritime tracks with multiple wins. He scored a runner-up finish at the 1983 NHRA National Event in Montreal. He was well-known for fielding show-worthy race cars including his orange ’48 Anglia Gasser – perhaps his most memorable ride. Stan retired from racing in 1988.

DEAN CLATTENBURG: Dean started racing motorcycles at a young age, winning a championship in 1987. He moved into stock car racing soon after and in 1992 he was the MASCAR Rookie of the Year where he also won three consecutive Debby Hallahan Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver Awards over the next few years. In 1996 he moved to the U.S. to pursue a professional racing career. He was offered an incredible opportunity by the late Robert Hamke – to take care of chassis fabrication and repair at Hamke Race Cars. He did this for over a decade and in 2013 formed Clattenburg Racing Fabrication building CRF Chassis front clips and fabricated suspension components which have been successful in both Canada and the United States.

JOHN DUREPOS: Started racing in his early 20s – cars and snowmobiles. From 1970 to 2002 he owned and operated John’s Sports and Automotive. In 1971 he started John’s Sports Racing Team with himself as the driver and mechanic at first but soon expanded to include more racers and mechanics. They were the team to beat for many years. John served as a director of the Maritime Snowmobile Racing Federation in the 90s, and was President of the organization from 1995 to 2021. He led the way for it to become incorporated and affiliated with International Snowmobile Racing Ltd., establishing MSRF as a professional racing circuit.

HAROLD JONES: Harold has been interested in tractors and trucks for his entire life, and trucking for a living. It was his “gift of gab” that introduced him to many people with restorable antique trucks and tractors and before long he was buying, restoring, and selling them. The garage he had built for his trucking business was divided so he had space for his restorations. In 2013 a tornado destroyed the building and damaged many of his antiques; he has since rebuilt, with the help of family and friends. He continues restoring and especially enjoys it when folks stop by to hear his stories and have a few laughs.

JAMES ‘JIM’ MACPHERSON: Jim MacPherson spent 30+ years in stock car racing, described as steady, consistent, innovative, and independent. He earned the moniker Mr. Mopar for driving Petty blue Chrysler products for most of his career. His first race was in 1955, driving #28, the number he kept for 30 years. He was points champion in 1969 at Brookside Speedway, in 1974 at Miramichi and River Glade Speedway. His greatest success came at River Glade where he won more races than any other driver.

MONCTON HOG CHAPTER: The Moncton Harley Owners Group (HOG) is a riding club that also supports charities. They are one of over 1400 worldwide HOG chapters. Its purpose is to promote responsible Harley-Davidson® motorcycling in a manner consistent with a family-oriented, non-political, non-religious philosophy. The Moncton HOG chapter celebrated its 35th anniversary in 2022.

DAVE O’BLENIS: Dave started his racing career in 1994 at River Glade Speedway, driving a street stock. He won Rookie of the Year and finished second in points. He has gone on to win over 100 features and multiple championships in three different divisions: pro stock, sportsman, and street stock. He has prepared pro stock cars for NASCAR drivers Terry Labonte, Johnny Benson, and Johnny Sauter. For the last 11 years, he has prepared cars for and raced with his two daughters who run sportsman cars.

PATON RACING TEAM: Barry Paton and his son Todd are legendary in Canadian drag racing. They’ve enjoyed a lifelong obsession with fast cars. In 1989, Barry became the first Canadian to qualify first at the Molson Grand National in Montreal. In the winter of 1991, Todd ran 6.01 seconds in a Funny Car at the first meet, the 1991 Gatornationals. Subsequent record-setting performances saw them become the only Canadian team to win two IHRA Championships. Todd and his brother, Tony, still operate Paton Racing. Barry was inducted into the Canadian Motorsports Hall of Fame in 2002. Barry and Todd were inducted into the Canadian Drag Racing Hall of Fame in 2023.

DON PHILLIPS: Don started drag racing in the 70s. In the late 70s he worked as a tech inspector. He stepped away from the sport in 1980 and in 1989 got involved again when he joined the Cape Breton Drag Racing Association. In 2001 he started and the Maritime Drag Racers Message Board as well as doing tech inspections at Cape Breton Dragway. In 2009 he started racing again winning a points championship in 2017. Since then he’s had multiple second and third-place finishes and Gambler race wins, most recently in 2023 driving a Super/Pro.

To learn more about the Maritime Motorsports Hall of Fame (MMHF) please visit the MMHF museum in Petitcodiac or online at